Healthy Apple Pie?

DUDE.

Dude.

^That’s how excited I am about what just happened.

If you know me, then you know I love desserts. If you really know me, then you know I could literally eat an entire apple pie by myself in one sitting. So, going on this healthy lifestyle kick has shattered a little piece of my heart. The sugary, delicious, dessert piece to be exact.

HOWEVER.

Necessity is the mother invention. And I need me some apple pie.

The last few days I’ve been trying to find the best way to mix up my snacks so I don’t get bored. I’ve always loved sliced apples with lemon juice, then 2 days ago I thought…wait…let’s put some cinnamon on said apples and see what happens. That’s how my deliciously tart, apple with lemon & cinnamon snack was born. Yum!

Then, literally an hour ago, I thought….Vivi you brilliant woman, you! Make some “apple pie” innards. That’s your favorite part anyway! Yeees, yes, flakey crust is delicious, but come on! Everyone knows the pie guts are the best part.

Vivi: But how? How do I do this without using sugar and butter and all the things I love but can’t have?

Vivi’s Brain: Water. In a pan.

Vivi: Oh, hush, Brain, it can’t be that easy.

But it was….oooooh it was. And I am so happy.

Here’s how you do it:

  1. peel apples
  2. cut apple into thin (not too thin) slices
  3. put small pan (frying pan? I don’t know) on stove top. Half heat (5 out of 10 on my stove)
  4. small layer of water that barely covers the bottom of the pan
  5. add apples, lemon juice (1/2 lemon for me) and cinnamon to pan
  6. wait until apples look slightly cooked, browned, or until water completely evaporates
  7. EAT

It should only have a total of around 115 calories.

Some of you may be reading this going…oh Vivi, you poor, naive soul, I’ve known this for years. Everyone knows this.
Well, I don’t care. I’m claiming it as my delicious brain child and I am happy.

I’m going to work on a way to make this even more simple, aka, microwave. Nutmeg and other spices may also make an appearance.

Until then, if you try it let me know what you think or if you have other ideas, let me know!

Leave a Reply

