“Git Er Dozen!”

Well, Folks! It’s the start of a new year. 2015. Can you believe it?! I was just getting used to 2014!

And like every January, of every year, it’s time to start thinking about….

Resolutions.

Ugh. That word- resolutions– puts a sour taste in my mouth. Maybe it’s because every year society berates us with notions that we need to lose more weight or get a better job. Or, maybe I’m a little bitter at myself for not always following through with previous year’s resolutions. More likely, it’s a little of both. I’m mad that society tells me to eat healthier and mad at myself for not being capable of doing it for more than 2 months at a time.

However, among those annoyances and self-doubts, there is one thing I really love about starting a new year. The one thing that influenced me to start this blog. It’s the buzzing sense of renewal that only occurs right when the clock strikes midnight. A clean slate, so to speak. The new year makes you feel like you can do anything!

Suddenly,everyone has a lovely mix of excitement, hope, and passion for a life full of new and adventurous moments.

That drive is still running through my veins today (check in again in 2 months) so I figured, what better way to keep myself motivated to maintain my “resolutions,” than to publicly humiliate myself by posting about them! Hah!

Usually, I find myself wanting to do more than one specific thing within my 365 day time limit. Plus, my goals are usually rather general, ex:

  1. Book more acting gigs
  2. Book more weddings (photography)
  3. Keep producing stuff
  4. Get fit/lose weight
  5. Travel more

General? This is nightmarishly broad! No wonder I never complete anything!

I don’t set achievable goals! Bad, Vivi!

For those who don’t know who I am or what I do, here’s a brief overview:

I call myself a “freelancer in life” because I have various, overlapping contract jobs. All within the fields of arts & entertainment. So, I am an actress, producer, photographer, and teacher.

One of the main points we teach our kids is to make specific choices.
Guess who’s not following her own advice? This gal!
So I decided to change that and created….

*drum roll*

Vivi’s Dozen!

  • Book 12 SAG acting gigs
  • Shoot 12 weddings this year as a lead photographer
  • Be a producer on 12 productions
  • Lose 12 pounds
  • Read 12 minutes a day

You probably see a theme here. Like a baker’s dozen, Vivi’s Dozen isn’t actually 12 things…whoops. I don’t really know why I chose the number 12 but it sounded nice. Almost like, hey, if all goes well, you can achieve all these by having one a month for the year!

Now, instead of calling these resolutions, they’re just…Vivi’s Dozen.

They’re personal, difficult, and achievable with hard work and discipline. However, I’ve promised myself to not be heartbroken if on Dec 31, 2015 I haven’t completed them all. On the flip side of that, if I achieve more than 12 of a set, woohoo! At the end of the day, I have some clear goals to work towards and that’s what I’ve been needing all along.

I invite you to join in my journey! Start your own dozen and let’s share and work together! My best friend, Ali, has her list. We decided that the motto for our 2015 Dozen’s will be:

Git Er Dozen!

Follow along with my progress, rants, and achievements here on the blog, my Facebook Page, Twitter, and Instagram! I will also plug my photography site/blog for you to follow as well! I’ll also be hashtagging #vivisdozen and #giterdozen. I’ll try to convince Ali to start #alisdozen 😉

Cheers to the new year and I hope you all are inspired to make specific choices, and achieve your resolutions dozen this year!

Leave a Reply

